"The voice for cancer physicians and their patients in Massachusetts."

Oncologist of the Year

In 2011, the MSCO Board of Directors created the “Massachusetts Oncologist of the Year” award to be presented at the Annual Meeting each year.  Our first winner was Dr. Arthur Skarin, a long time member and Past President of MSCO. The annual award will honor the achievements of an individual whose research and innovations have had a transforming and lasting impact in areas of clinical oncology, cancer research, clinical trials, and patient advocacy activities or outstanding long-term service to MSCO and/or to clinical oncology.

2021 Oncologist of the year recipient: ERIC T. WONG, MD 

Associate Professor, Department of Neurology, Harvard Medical School; Co-Director, Brain Tumor Center, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Dr. Eric T. Wong received his medical training at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in Piscataway, New Jersey, and completed his internship in internal medicine at New Jersey Medical School in Newark. He underwent residency training in neurology at the Washington University Medical Center in St. Louis, Missouri, and subsequently completed fellowships in neuro-oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York and University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.
Dr. Wong is currently practicing at the Lifespan Cancer Institute, Rhode Island Hospital. He is form co-director of the Brain Tumor Program and director of the Neuro-Oncology Unit at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston. His research interests are in biomarker discovery to enable neuro-oncologists and medical oncologists to better predict response to conventional cytotoxic chemotherapy and/or targeted therapies. He played a key role in the pivotal clinical trial and the FDA approval in 2011 of the NovoTTF-100A device, a novel treatment for recurrent glioblastoma. He has served on the editorial boards of the Journal of Clinical Oncology and Cancer Medicine. Dr. Wong is also a past president of the Massachusetts Society of Clinical Oncologists and, in this capacity, he has fought on behalf of cancer patients for coverage of lifesaving treatments.

Past Oncologist of the Year Recipients

Jeffrey Wisch, MD  (2020)

Therese Marie Mulvey, MD  (2019)

Lowell E. Schnipper, MD  (2018)

Anthony Zietman, MD, FASTRO  (2017)

Paul J. Hesketh, MD  (2016)

Walt A. Kagan, MD  (2015)

Mark Huberman, MD  (2014)

Michael Goldstein, MD  (2013)

Leo Stolbach, MD  (2012)

Arthur Skarin, MD  (2011)

Upcoming events

Submit a Nomination

MSCO members are encouraged to submit their nominations via written nomination letter to be presented to the Board of Directors. Nominations are based on the following criteria: 

  • Be a senior physician
  • Have a history of excellence and peer approval in the oncology community
  • Have a letter of nomination from a MSCO member which documents the nominee’s personal accomplishments which warrant the nomination for the award.

Award nominations are accepted on a continuing basis throughout the year. Nominations received after August 31st of each year will not be considered for that year's award; they will be rolled over for consideration the following year.

Email your nomination to msco@mms.org or click here to submit a nomination via our online web form

© Copyright.  All rights reserved. 

Massachusetts Society of Clinical Oncologists

P.O. Box 549154, Waltham, MA, 02454
Tel: 781.434.7329 | Fax: 781.464.4896 | email: msco@mms.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software