"The voice for cancer physicians and their patients in Massachusetts."

Arthur t. skarin award

Established in 2011, the Oncologist of the Year Award recognizes the achievements of an individual who, throughout the span of their career, has made significant contributions that have had a transforming and lasting impact in areas of clinical oncology, patient advocacy activities, and patient care or outstanding, long-term service to MSCO. 

Starting in 2022, the award name changed to honor the memory of Dr. Arthur T. Skarin, former MSCO president, who was dedicated and devoted to the education and enrichment of the oncology profession as well as advocating for patients, patient care, and treatment accessibility within the state. 

The award presented annually during the MSCO Annual Meeting, and the recipient is highlighted in the MSCO newsletter, website, and in other meeting publications. The recipient is invited to deliver an acceptance speech during the Annual Meeting.

2021 Oncologist of the year recipient


Associate Professor, Department of Neurology, Harvard Medical School; Co-Director, Brain Tumor Center, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Dr. Eric T. Wong received his medical training at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in Piscataway, New Jersey, and completed his internship in internal medicine at New Jersey Medical School in Newark. He underwent residency training in neurology at the Washington University Medical Center in St. Louis, Missouri, and subsequently completed fellowships in neuro-oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York and University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.
Dr. Wong is currently practicing at the Lifespan Cancer Institute, Rhode Island Hospital. He is form co-director of the Brain Tumor Program and director of the Neuro-Oncology Unit at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston. His research interests are in biomarker discovery to enable neuro-oncologists and medical oncologists to better predict response to conventional cytotoxic chemotherapy and/or targeted therapies. He played a key role in the pivotal clinical trial and the FDA approval in 2011 of the NovoTTF-100A device, a novel treatment for recurrent glioblastoma. He has served on the editorial boards of the Journal of Clinical Oncology and Cancer Medicine. Dr. Wong is also a past president of the Massachusetts Society of Clinical Oncologists and, in this capacity, he has fought on behalf of cancer patients for coverage of lifesaving treatments.

Upcoming events

Past Award Recipients

  • Eric T. Wong, MD (2021)
  • Jeffrey Wisch, MD  (2020)
  • Therese Marie Mulvey, MD  (2019)
  • Lowell E. Schnipper, MD  (2018)
  • Anthony Zietman, MD, FASTRO  (2017)
  • Paul J. Hesketh, MD  (2016)
  • Walt A. Kagan, MD  (2015)
  • Mark Huberman, MD  (2014)
  • Michael Goldstein, MD  (2013)
  • Leo Stolbach, MD  (2012)
  • Arthur T. Skarin, MD (2011)

Submit a Nomination

MSCO members are encouraged to submit their nominations via written nomination letter to be presented to the Awards Committee.

To be eligible for this award, candidates must:
  • Be a professional physician practicing in Massachusetts
  • Be an individual who is known for their major contributions to the field of oncology and/or to MSCO during their professional career
  • Submit a letter of nomination detailing information that will document the individual’s outstanding contributions

Award nominations are accepted on a continuing basis throughout the year. Nominations received after August 31st of each year will not be considered for that year's award; they will be rolled over for consideration the following year.

Click link below to submit your nomination or email msco@mms.org.

Submit Nomination

Massachusetts Society of Clinical Oncologists ©2022

860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA, 02451
Tel: 781.434.7329  |  Fax: 781.464.4896  |  email: msco@mms.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software